The Art Of Vegan Beer

vegan beer, veganuary, beer in Leeds at the Old Red Bus Station

Whale, where do we begin?

Here at The Old Red Bus Station we pride ourselves on the fact that all our beers and wine are vegan & while we’ve all heard of a vegan beer we’re here to give you the run down on what actually makes it vegan.

In recent years vegan beers have become increasingly popular alongside the rise of vegetarianism and veganism, and given that, you wouldn’t think it would be hard to identify whether a beer is vegan friendly or not, but most beers weren’t, and still aren’t, openly labelled as containing products from animals. So what makes certain alcohol non vegan friendly?

Isinglass, is a fancy name for the swim bladder of a fish and is dried and used to create a gelatine which works as a fining agent to make beer, and some wines, clear and all round more attractive to drinkers.

It’s been used since the 19th century and has been used widely by mass brewers and microbreweries although as it sounds overall pretty horrible it’s no surprise that sellers don’t want to advertise the fact they use fish parts to filter their beer.

With the rise in popularity in Veganism & Vegetarianism, so too has the demand for vegan friendly beers and as more and more people are concerned with the environmental damages related to producing products which include meat and fish there is increasing pressure on businesses to find alternatives.

Thankfully there are plenty of resources online to help identify which beers are vegan, like this and thankfully most supermarkets are cottoning onto the vegan trend and will label them as such and of course if you ask in any bar they SHOULD know what is and isn’t vegan friendly.

Of course you could just get yourself down to ORBS where you don’t have to worry about guessing if any of our beer or wine is vegan friendly. We’re here to support all your vegan needs this Veganuary.